top of page

Find Jewelry Cute Enough to Eat at GeekCraft Expo Seattle: Starfall at Dusk


Catharine Devine Starfall at Dusk GeekCraft Expo

Woo hoo! GeekCraft Expo Seattle will be here in just a few days--have you registered for free tickets on Eventbrite yet? We'll be at Hangar 30 at Magnuson Park November 24-25 showcasing more than 100 local geeky crafters selling jewelry, apparel, toys, and more inspired by comics and pop culture.

One of our newer exhibitors is Starfall at Dusk, maker of adorable tiny food-inspired jewelry! We chatted with Starfall's Catharine Devine about what she's bringing to the show and what she loves about geek culture.

Starfall at Dusk GeekCraft Expo

GeekCraft Expo: How did Starfall at Dusk get its start? Catharine Devine: A few years ago, I found a photo of a cake online, and was shocked to discover it was a miniature made from polymer clay! I decided to challenge myself to create realistic miniature food, and it’s been so much fun ever since. GCE: Can you explain the name for us? CD: Dusk is the magical time between day and night where anything can happen. It’s especially lucky if you can catch a shooting star.

Starfall at Dusk GeekCraft Expo

GCE: How did you get into jewelry making? CD: In the beginning, I was just making miniatures, but I had many requests for jewelry. At that time most of the food jewelry I saw was scented, had kawaii faces on them, or were oversized statement pieces. It was also difficult to find jewelry that wouldn’t irritate my sensitive skin. I decided that I wanted to offer smaller, more realistic food jewelry that was appropriate to wear to work, and that was nickel-free for those that have metal allergies.

Starfall at Dusk GeekCraft Expo

GCE: What are your favorite pieces to make? CD: I love making pieces that are unusual, like my turban squash or geoduck jewelry. I enjoy researching how the food looks and how it’s used in recipes. GCE: What are your favorite aspects of geek culture? CD: I love running into a like-minded geeks in the wild and chatting about our favorite fandoms.

Starfall at Dusk GeekCraft Expo

GCE: Who is your favorite geek hero or villain? CD: Mewtwo! I hope I can catch him in Pokemon Go someday. GCE: What are you bringing to the show this year? CD: Handmade food jewelry and miniatures for dolls and dollhouses.

Our thanks to Catharine for a great interview! Make sure to stop by her booth and check out a hangar-ful of geeky delights at GeekCraft Expo Seattle.

Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page