top of page

Mabel by Design Brings Fun, Quirky Crochet to GCE Seattle 2018

Joleen Kiesel Mabel by Design GeekCraft Expo

GeekCraft Expo Seattle is this weekend, folks! Did you pre-register for free admission via EventBrite? If not, no worries--once pre-registration sells out, it's just $2 admission for those 13 and older (12 and younger are free) as space permits.

One of our new exhibitors this year is Mabel by Design, purveyor of totally cute, funny and unique crocheted pieces! We chatted with Mabel by Design's Joleen Kiesel about how she got her start, what she loves about geek culture, and what she's bringing to the show!

Could Craftpool have a rival . . . or a friend?

GeekCraft Expo: How did you get started with crochet? Joleen Kiesel: My grandmother taught me when I was about 8 years old, but I didn't really do much with it except off and on over the years. I really started getting back into it about 5 years ago as a relaxing hobby. GCE: What made you decide to go into business? JK: I had a lot of friends tell me that I should sell the things I would make, and few even would ask me to make things for them. It wasn't until I had a good friend who decided she wanted to start her own consignment handmade business and asked me if I wanted to supply items for her that I started looking into a business.

Avocado Buddies Mabel by Design GeekCraft Expo

GCE: What are your most popular pieces? JK: Honestly, it has changed from year to year. For a short while, it was the Avocado Buddies! I think right now it is a tossup between the Useless Goldfish (or really anything Pokemon) and Totoro. The Totoro Dice Bags seem to always be the first thing to go. GCE: What are your major influences? JK: Fun, quirky, unique, and silly things. My husband suggests things to me all the time. I have things from a Facehugger to F-Bombs to Princess Wigs to Pikapool!

Wonder Woman Shawl GeekCraft Expo Mabel by Design

GCE: What are your favorite aspects of geek culture? JK: The Sci-fi/Fantasy of it all. I also like the emerging roles of strong women. The world needs more Dana Scullys, Buffys, Jins, Zoe Washburns, Jodi Whittaker (as the Doctor!), and Wonder Woman. GCE: Who is your favorite geek hero or villain? JK: Wow, that is a loaded question! LOL Wonder Woman will always be my favorite hero, and the Weeping Angels, I think, have to be my favorite "baddie" (and they always scare the bee-jeez outta me)!

Princess Crocheted Wigs Mabel by Design GeekCraft Expo

GCE: What are you bringing to the show this year? JK: I am bringing a little something for everyone I hope! This is my first year attending so it is hard to say how things will go. One of the things I am most excited about is the Wonder Woman wrap that I crocheted while traveling across the UK last month. It turned out better than I could have hoped!

Our thanks to Joleen for the great interview! Come see her and 100+ geeky exhibitors at GeekCraft Expo Seattle November 24-25 at Hangar 30 in Magnuson Park.

Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page