top of page

Hand & Gear Design Brings Laser-Cut Wooden Models to GeekCraft Expo


Hand & Gear Design GeekCraft Expo

GeekCraft Expo PDX is just a week away--are you ready to shop 80+ of Portland's coolest geeky crafters May 12 and 13 at the Oregon Convention Center?

One of our returning exhibitors is Geordie Humphrey from Hand & Gear Design, whose very first show was GeekCraft Expo PDX's first show back in 2016. He's bringing lots of cool wooden laser cut monsters, spaceships, and more--read on to learn all about them!

GeekCraft Expo: How did Hand & Gear get its start? Geordie Humphrey: I’ve been making art for a while, but mostly just for fun or gifts for friends and family. I decided to start a business for two reasons. One, I was running out of space to store all my creations, and I was tired of them not going anywhere other than my apartment. Two, the idea of running a business had always scared me and I decided it was time to challenge myself and face my fears. I choose the name Hand & Gear Design because the events, like GeekCraft, that I wanted to sell at were all about handmade crafts. While I was using a laser cutter (machine) to cut my parts out, the models are put together by hand. So hands (people) and gears (machines) working together to create fantastic works of art.

Hand & Gear Design GeekCraft Expo

GCE: Have you always been interested in woodworking?

GH: I really don’t consider myself a woodworker. I’ve experimented with several different mediums, paper mache, wood, and metal. Right now laser cut wood works the best for me, but I’m hoping to add some welded metal to my designs soon. If there is anything I’m passionate about it's CAD (Computer Aided Design) and CAM (Computer Aided Manufacturing). I’ve been using art programs like Adobe Illustrator for years to do drawings on the computer, and now I can turn those drawings into parts. GCE: What are your influences? GH: The Muppets and MythBusters. I grew up watching The Muppet Show. Its creativity and weird sense of humor delighted and inspired me. It made me laugh and showed me the power of imagination. It is what inspired me to be creative. As an adult, MythBusters fueled my love of building things. Watching the MythBusters build all the crazy things they built to test the myths would inspire me to go into the shop and build my own things.

Hand & Gear Design GeekCraft Expo

GCE: I believe GCE was either your very first show or close to it. What made you join up, and what have you learned from subsequent shows? GH: GeekCraft has been a great show and a wonderful learning experience. I’ve learned a lot about how to set up booth, what displays do and don’t work, and how to interact with customers. GeekCraft does a great job of taking care of its vendors. Rather than being left to fend for yourself, they really give you a helping hand. It’s a great place to start out. GCE: What are your personal nerdy favorites? GH: Well, The Muppets of course. I love animation, anime, Pixar and Disney, Laika, Studio Ghibli and Ray Harryhausen. Doctor Who is my favorite TV sci-fi show. Mike Mignola’s artwork is amazing and has been an inspiration for my Lovecraftian monsters. I believe it is important for an artist to constantly seek out inspiration and creativity. GCE: What’s your favorite convention snack? GH: Donuts. My favorite post convention food is pizza. Sunday after I load up my stuff I’ll call in an order for a large pizza and pick it up on the way home. No way I’m going to have the energy to cook dinner that night. GCE: What are you bringing to the show this year? GH: I’ve had several requests for a dragon model and I’ve finally made one. I will be bringing all my classic sci-fi models and my H.P. Lovecraft-inspired monsters.

Our thanks to Geordie for a great interview! Make sure to RSVP for GeekCraft Expo PDX on Facebook today.

Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page