top of page

Crawford Woodcraft Brings Geeky Cutting Boards to GCE PDX


Ryan Crawford Woodcraft GeekCraft Expo

Have you RSVP'd for GeekCraft Expo PDX May 12 and 13? We're excited our geeky craft fair is making the move to the Oregon Convention Center!

One of our exhibitors is Crawford Woodcraft, a GeekCraft Expo Seattle alum founded by Ryan Crawford, who is joining us in Portland this year. His nerdy cutting boards are extremely popular: read on to learn why!

GeekCraft Expo: What is Crawford Woodcraft best known for? Crawford Woodcraft: The short answer, cutting boards! I make all kinds of crazy cutting boards, usually off geeky inspired things from my childhood.

Crawford Woodcraft GeekCraft Expo PDX

GCE: How did you get started with woodworking? CW: It’s sort of a sad story with a happy ending. In 2012 my wife and I were expecting our first child and couldn’t have been more excited. Our excitement quickly turned to tears when we found out that eight months in to the pregnancy, our daughter unexpectedly passed away due to cord entanglement. I was heartbroken, but in that brokenness God showed me that I can build these cool designs and share them with others. I started buying cheap saws and tools on Craigslist. As my skills increased, I purchased better tools, making crazier designs. I guess you could say that if it wasn’t for the the passing of my baby girl, I may have never found something I am so passionate about. GCE: What inspired you to start making geeky pieces? CW: As a kid I played a bunch of Nintendo games and instantly thought cutting boards depicting some of my favorite characters and childhood movies was a must.

Crawford Woodcraft GeekCraft Expo

GCE: What are your most popular items? CW: My “shield” and “Super Mario” inspired boards. People seem to always tell me how cool they are. And yes, all my boards are useable! GCE: What are your favorite geeky movies, TV shows, comics, or video games? CW: Soooooo, sooo many. I will sum it up by saying any Super Nintendo game, superhero, or geeky movie . . . Mario, Captain America, and Ghostbusters are at the top of the lists. GCE: What is your favorite convention snack? CW: Somehow I always end up buying Chex Mix. I don’t even like it that much, but somehow I always seem to have it!

Crawford Woodcraft GeekCraft Expo

GCE: What are you bringing to GeekCraft Expo PDX this spring? CW: I can’t wait for PDX. I’m bringing a ton of my favorites, including a few new boards I’ve never made. Given it’s Mother’s Day, I think a Wonder Woman board is a must!

Our thanks to Ryan for the fantastic interview. Get ready to browse his cutting boards (a great gift for Mom, by the way) as well as hundreds of other goodies! RSVP on Facebook, and we'll see you May 12 and 13!

Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page