top of page

Fantasy + Nature: Find Gavin Gray Valentine Art at GeekCraft Expo Seattle

Gavin Gray Valentine GeekCraft Expo

GeekCraft Expo Seattle's Holiday Market is coming up quick: come to our free, family-friendly show November 25 and 26 to shop a wide array of gifts for geeks of all ages!

Do you have a nature-loving geek on your list? Pay special attention to Gavin Gray Valentine Art, one of this year's fantastic exhibitors. We interviewed Gavin Valentine about what inspires his gorgeous, fantastical art and asked for a preview of what he's bringing this year. Check it out below! GeekCraft Expo: Can you introduce us to your artwork? What mediums do you work in? Gavin Valentine: I create my work to show people the strange creatures and worlds that exist outside of our own. I work in pencil and digital. GCE: How did you develop your technique? GV: It took awhile for me to really define what constitutes my style. The look of my work is unique compared to popular fantasy art and I struggled with that early in my career. I think best with pencil, so my drawings are really the backbone of my art. Embracing that in my finished pieces is what adds a level of personality and an animated quality to my work.

Gavin Gray Valentine Art GeekCraft Expo

GCE: Your work is a wonderful blend of the natural and fantastic worlds. What inspires you? GV: I grew up in the Pacific Northwest, hiking and camping all the time. Because of this I developed a love for folktales, strange creatures from the unknown, and a love of nature. For me, the woods will always be a place of peace and mystery, both beautiful and unmerciful. In my art I try to capture the spectrum of that feeling.

GCE: What is your favorite part of exhibiting at conventions? GV: Definitely the people. I work in my studio without really knowing if my goal for a piece is working, until I come to a show. When I finally reveal a piece and see people reacting to it, whether it's happiness or haunting, that's where the magic is for me. I love sharing a connection through my art with others.

Gavin Gray Valentine Art GeekCraft Expo

GCE: What’s your favorite geeky character? GV: There are so many to choose from. The Legend of Zelda had a huge impact on me as a kid, but Link isn't a particularly compelling character. One of my favorite creatures from folklore is the Wendigo, maybe that counts. GCE: Do you take commissions? GV: My schedule is pretty full most of the time, so I usually don't. GCE: What are you bringing to GeekCraft Expo's Seattle Holiday Market this year?

GV: 11" x 14" open edition prints, and 12" x 16" and 24" x 36" limited edition canvas prints.

Our heartfelt thanks to Gavin for taking time away from his art to chat with us! Come shop local shop small, and shop geeky at GeekCraft Expo Seattle's Holiday Market November 25 and 26!

Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page