top of page

Copper Chicken Brings Geeky Pillows and More to GeekCraft Expo Midwest


GeekCraft Expo Copper Chicken

Are you ready to shop GeekCraft Expo Midwest's Fall Mall October 14 and 15 in Madison, WI? Don't forget to stop by Copper Chicken: their amazing geeky pillows, tote bags, and furniture are jaw-droppingly detailed and perfect for holiday presents.

We chatted with Copper Chicken's Nichole McDonald to learn more about her and the amazing crafts she's bringing to the Madison Masonic Center!

GeekCraft Expo: Where does the name “Copper Chicken” come from? Nichole McDonald: The name Copper Chicken comes from where we live. We have a small chicken farm called Copper Chicken Farms. I have actually been known to dress the chicks in superhero capes from time to time! GCE: How long have you been in business? NMc: We have been in business since 2008, but I really feel like we found our niche and our customer base around 2012. GCE: Who taught you to sew? NMc: I taught myself to sew. I always knew I was a maker. I have three kids: two teenage boys and an 11-year-old-girl. Whenever they wanted something that I couldn't find in the store, or even couldn't afford, I would make it. GCE: What inspired you to combine traditional appliqué and embroidery techniques with geeky themes? NMc: A few years ago when I became obsessed with embroidery and appliqué, one of the first things I did was make a Harry Potter pillow. I've always tried to make Christmas and birthday presents for family and friends instead of buying them, and fortunately I have mostly nerdy family and friends, so it was just the natural course of things. GCE: Which geeky movies/TV shows/video games are your personal favorites? NMc: I think more than anything I am Harry Potter fan. I watched my son grow up immersed so totally in the books and that world. I fell head over heels for it along with him. I love Star Wars, mostly the originals. We are huge Marvel fans in this house, and I'll always have a soft spot for the '90s Tim Burton Batman movies that I grew up with. The past few years Game of Thrones has kind of taken over our life, and I'm loving the Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Iron Fist, and Luke Cage shows.

GeekCraft Expo Star Wars Tables

GCE: What are your favorite things to make? NMc: I love to sew and come up with new embroidery designs, but my favorite thing to make is probably one of my tables. I love to take a kitchen table or a huge coffee table and turn it into the Spider-Man logo or the Death Star. Those projects kind of consume you, and I love how creative it lets me be. GCE: What kinds of pieces will you be bringing to GeekCraft Expo Midwest this year? NMc: At GeekCraft Expo I will have all of my embroidered appliqué pillows and tote bags. Space is limited so I will also be bringing smaller pieces like TV trays and side tables. If I can figure out how to squeeze it in I would love to bring at least one of my bigger pieces. I'm doing an amazing Wonder Woman table right now that I would love to include.

Make sure to RSVP for GeekCraft Expo Midwest's Fall Mall October 14 and 15! Are you crafty yourself? We're still taking exhibitor applications for a limited number of spaces: fill one out today.

Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page