top of page

Find Unique Baby Items & Home Decor at GeekCraft Expo RDU


GeekCraft Expo RDU Carolyn's Geek Boutique Baby Cthulhu Costume

Can you believe GeekCraft Expo RDU is just three weeks away? We're back with another peek at the types of things you'll find May 14 at the Durham Armory: adorable nerdy baby gear and eco-friendly items from Carolyn's Geek Boutique! We chatted with Carolyn Poynter:

GeekCraft Expo: Which came first—the sewing or the geekiness?

Carolyn's Geek Boutique: The geekiness for sure. I grew up with both, but didn't really start sewing again until a couple years ago.

GCE: This is the first time I’ve seen unpaper towels for sale: tell us about them!

CGB: Unpaper towels are a great eco-friendly way to reduce your waste. They are one layer of terry cotton (same thing regular towels are made of) and one layer of woven cotton to give the towel some character. They are approximately 12" x12," which is the standard size of a paper towel. I use mine for everything I would normally grab a paper towel for.

GCE: What are the benefits of unpaper towels versus traditional paper towels?

CGB: Unpaper towels are reusable and can be made in so many different fun patterns!

GCE: Can they go through the laundry?

CGB: Yes! I put mine in the regular laundry. I do not recommend bleaching them. I use a good amount of Oxi-Clean.

GCE: What types of custom orders do you do?

CGB: I've done mermaid blankets, special bibs, birthday shirts, yard flags, Christmas stockings, and aprons. I've even been known to create Viking-age clothing for the Society for Creative Anachronism.

GeekCraft Expo RDU Carolyn's Geek Boutique Baby Bibs

GCE: What’s the weirdest/funniest/most difficult geeky item you’ve ever made?

CGB: I made a Cthulhu costume for a baby's first Halloween [pictured above]! I drew the pattern for the tentacles and wings.

GCE: What was your favorite part about the last GeekCraft Expo RDU?

CGB: I loved the staff! They were amazing at helping the vendors and of course the customer! The geek/fandom world has amazing people in it.

GCE: What types of things are you bringing this year?

CGB: Last year I only had bibs and teething pads on hand. This year I'll have bibs, teething pads for baby carriers, burp cloths, coasters, unpaper paper towels, and possibly a couple of surprise items!

Thank you to Carolyn for taking time away from the sewing machine to answer all our questions! Make sure to RSVP for GeekCraft Expo RDU May 14 (it's free!), and also join us for our kickoff party May 13 at Fullsteam Brewery--we'll have prizes, beer, geek trivia, and Ramones cover band Gamma Gamma Ray!

Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page