top of page

GCE PDX Interviews: Twisted Copper


GCX: What or who first peaked your interest in arts and crafts?

I don't think I can attribute my interest in art to any one person or thing; I've been creative as long as I can remember.

GCX: Why did you decide that you would make a specific type of craft?

It was an accident. I had access to quite a lot of scrap wire where I used to work, and I used to play with it on my lunch break and such, sculpting stick figures and abstract pieces... one day I made a scorpion and thought to myself, what else can I make with this stuff? It turns out it was a lot of things.

GCX: How do you feel about the artisan crafting community and their ability to benefit from GeekCraft Expo?

I don't know how to answer this question.

GCX: Are you from the Portland area? If not originally, what brought you here?

I was born and raised in Alaska, moved to southern Oregon in 2000 and came to live in Portland in 2009.

GCX: What is your favorite thing about creating your product and being able to sell it to people personally vs. through sites like Etsy?

I enjoy the connection that comes with meeting customers personally. Some people express a lot of joy when they discover that they are encouraged to touch, feel, and play with my art. Holding a sculpture in one's hand, feeling its weight, examining the details, all that tactile sensation has an effect on people. Photos often don't do sculptures justice. When I do sell something on Etsy, I am pleased, of course, but I don't get to see the look on the customer's face when they hold their purchase for the first time.

GCX: What is the story of how you got to this point (beginning to now)?

I don't want to bore you with my life story, so I won't.

GCX: Is it important for people to understand that your product is not “mass produced’? Why?

It is very important that people understand that every single one of my sculptures is hand-made, by me, with little to no outside help in any of the production process (stripping, separating, and re-spooling scrap wire is a tedious but necessary part of the process, along with teaching myself new techniques and perfecting them). If I "mass produce" a type of sculpture (handy key rings, cyclopses, dragons), you can be sure that every one of them are different in some way. No two are exactly alike. Understanding this is helpful when asking why I charge as much as I do.

GCX: What is the most special thing to you about your business?

I haven't seen another one like it.

GCX: What do you want to do with your crafts long term?

Make more awesome stuff, animate some of it maybe...

GCX: Are you picking this particular location because you live here or do you travel to multiple shows a year?

I mostly do shows in Portland because I live here. Business has not been lucrative enough to justify traveling very far.

GCX: What do you like about the overall arts and craft experience?

It's not like I make a living doing this, so I dunno...showing off all the cool stuff I made while strangers stroke my ego... little kids think I'm pretty cool, I guess.

GCX: What do you find different about shows that specifically focus on handmade and artisanal crafts versus shows that also have retail and store vendors?

It depends on the show, but I think the main difference is that the organizers who put on the shows care more about profits than products when they let retail folks vend with artists.

Thanks for the insight, Daniel! We will see you at the PDX GeekCraft Expo!


Follow Us
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Featured Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page